Why was Riyad Mahrez’s penalty vs Manchester City ruled out?

Leicester City star Riyad Mahrez was given the chance to bring his side level against Manchester City from the penalty spot and duly succeeded in converting from 12-yards.

However, as the Algerian celebrated with team-mates, referee Bobby Madley quickly brought them back down to earth by disallowing the goal and awarding Manchester City a free-kick.

So what happened?

Leicester City star Riyad Mahrez trips as he goes to take his penalty against Manchester City

Leicester City star Riyad Mahrez trips as he goes to take his penalty against Manchester City

The Algerian changed the direction of the ball by accidentally kicking it with his other foot

The Algerian changed the direction of the ball by accidentally kicking it with his other foot

Television replays revealed that Mahrez, who slipped as he went to strike, deflected the ball onto his standing leg, changing the ball’s flight and allowing it to float past Willy Caballero.

In accordance with FIFA law, a penalty taker is not allowed to touch the ball again until another player has come into contact with it or the penalty phase has ended. And while the law is designed to stop people dribbling it into the net, Mahrez did indeed touch the ball twice and fall foul of the law.

A close-up picture shows the exact moment the ball kits Mahrez's standing leg

A close-up picture shows the exact moment the ball kits Mahrez’s standing leg

GRAHAM POLL

Bobby Madley made a great call in Manchester City’s win over Leicester.

Madley was right to disallow the Riyad Mahrez penalty for a double kick.

Antoine Griezmann did the same for Atletico Madrid and it wasn’t detected.

LAWS OF THE GAME

Law 14 – The Penalty Kick – If, after the penalty kick has been taken, the kicker touches the ball again before it has touched another player an indirect free-kick is awarded or a direct free-kick for a handball.

That should be enough for Leicester fans to feel less aggrieved, if it were not for the fact that Atletico Madrid striker Antoine Griezmann did the exact same thing against Real Madrid with one crucial difference: the goal stood.

The Frenchman gave Atletico a 2-0 lead on the night in their Champions League semi-final after converting the spot-kick but replays showed the referee should have disallowed it and awarded a free-kick the other way.

Gary Lineker questioned the law in its current state on his social media account

Gary Lineker questioned the law in its current state on his social media account

Antoine Griezmann appears to touch the ball with his right foot before shooting  with his left

Antoine Griezmann appears to touch the ball with his right foot before shooting with his left

Thankfully for the referee and Real Madrid, the decision did not have an impact on the final result with Los Blancos qualifying for the Champions League final regardless.

The same cannot be said for Mahrez and Leicester, who narrowly lost at the Etihad after goals from David Silva and Gabriel Jesus took Pep Guardiola’s men one step closer to a top four finish.

Shinji Okazaki’s first-half volley looked set to spark a comeback, but it would ultimately turn out to be nothing more than a consolation.

Find this article interesting? Perhaps your friends will to, share it with them now!
No thanks, I prefer it when my friends think I have nothing interesting to share!